Cosmo's Midnight Announce Album and Share Remix of 'Yesteryear'

Twin star outfit Cosmo’s Midnight just announced their long-awaited sophomore album Yesteryear, to be released worldwide on October 2 via Sony Music (Australia), RCA Records (USA) and Black Butter Records (UK). Celebrating the news, the duo also share a new remix from Brame & Hamo for their recent album-titled single.

After releasing the psychedelia-infused 70s pop single “Yesteryear” with an iso-inspired film clip back in June, the uplifting track receives a club fit-out for dance heads everywhere. Irish-bred, Berlin-based duo Brame & Hamo put their famed house reputation to task, transporting the single to new darker, melodic and higher-tempo territory. Cosmo and Pat Liney on the remix: "Slicing up and vocoding the original vocal performance Brame & Hamo take 'Yesteryear' out of the clouds and into the clubs. For us, this remix embodies a post-covid, sweaty warehouse rave with its dark, hypnotic blend of trance, breakbeat, techno and electro."

The Yesteryear LP will arrive on October 2, representing a new and self-assured chapter for the Sydney-based duo who have spent years honing their sonic identity to become a confident live project of intelligent design and feel. From their bedrooms many years ago, to studios and sold-out stages across the world today, Cosmo’s Midnight have keenly enveloped an essence of timelessness within their sound, soon to be heard on their second album. Having excelled in their lane as songwriters and producers, the pair have fed their curiosity to master a sophisticated blend of disco, funk, psychedelic, soul, hip-hop and pop influences in their output while retaining clear-cut melodic progressions and ideas that stick around long after the record ends, often reflected back in their worldwide following and loyal fanbase. Familiar faces Ruel, Matthew Young and Age.Sex.Location are among the tracklist’s artist collaborations, topped off with a special appearance from Wollongong’s Stevan.

The duo say of the LP: "Our second album is more or less summed up in the title track 'Yesteryear'. It's about reflecting on the past with not only nostalgia but also an element of melancholia ~ all the formative experiences that we absorb growing up both good and bad. It's an album inspired by personal growth, looking back on these experiences, learning from them and moving forward with optimism. Stylistically we have always looked back to genres our parents introduced to us growing up; disco, funk, psychedelia, alt-pop of the 70s and 80s. In 'Yesteryear' we have honed in on that, moving away from overly produced sounds to more organic instrumentation, focused on feeling rather than thinking."

In 2020, Cosmo’s Midnight continue to hold their reputation as one of Australia’s best loved duos in left-field sound. Their debut in triple j’s Hottest 100 countdown with their gold-certified single “C.U.D.I (Can U Dig It)”, was followed by the release of “Down For You” with global pop phenomenon Ruel, seeing over 16 million online streams/views to date alongside a live debut at Sydney’s Laneway Festival. The arrival of “Yesteryear” kept the momentum strong, placing the duo on the cover of Spotify’s The Local List playlist and receiving acclaim from the likes of NME and Rolling Stone Australia. Previously, the pair have shined in performances at Splendour in the Grass, nation-wide festival tours of St. Jerome’s Laneway Festival and Listen Out, and sold-out headline shows in the US, Asia and major Australian venues on national tours. In 2018, their widely-appraised, debut triple j Feature Album What Comes Next put gold-certified favourites “History”, “Talk To Me” and “Get To Know” out into the world, kickstarting a meteoric rise that hasn’t slowed down since.

As Cosmo’s Midnight continue their trajectory of fearless exploration and reserved sophistication in 2020, turn up the dial on a new remix of “Yesteryear” today ahead of their sophomore album in October, promising some of their most exciting work yet.




1. Unwind
2. Yesteryear
3. It’s Love feat. Matthew Young
4. Have It All feat. Age.Sex.Location
5. Ice feat. Stevan
6. A Million Times
7. Down For You feat. Ruel
8. The Get Down
9. Time Wasted
10. Idaho
11. C.U.D.I (Can U Dig It)
12. We Could Last Forever

Buy TicketsListen HereRead More