Cosmo's Midnight Share Taste of New Album, 'Idaho'

Blazing the path to their highly anticipated sophomore album, Cosmo’s Midnight today drop the latest taste of the record with “Idaho”, out via Sony Music (Australia), RCA Records (USA)&Black Butter Records (UK). The track marks the final teaser from the forthcoming LP, Yesteryear, arriving in full on Friday, October 2.  

“Idaho” glides into the duo’s collection with Pat’s leading falsettos taking the reins, in a warming movement of steady alt-pop wrapped in 70s psych-rock foundations. Stepping away from the dancefloors for a breath of nostalgia and swaying soundscapes, the release spotlights the duo’s evolution towards rich analogue sound in driving guitars and a popping chorus. Premiered by Fault Magazine, through a film-glazed lens the accompanying video layers snapshots from the past two years with the duo, across studio sessions, tour diaries, and all the moments between that have ultimately shaped the upcoming record.

Cosmo's Midnight say of the single: "'Idaho' is a funky and laid back song about the ‘grass is greener’ syndrome. The inability to be content about your current life. Sometimes you need to go explore an alternate perspective so you realise how good you've really got it. It’s ok to make mistakes cos we’ve got youth on our side. We also recruited Wollongong’s very own Stevan to help out with backing vocals which really just glued the whole song together."

Yesteryear charts Cosmo’s Midnight’s progression from acclaimed electronic-pop production to a live act of intelligent design and feel. Including a string of singles already reaching over 41 million online streams, the record introduces a new self-assured era for the left-centre duo, putting their passion to work and founding a sophisticated blend of the sounds they grew up with which have shaped a chameleon-like output today. Switching between collaborations to themselves on leading vocals, and nostalgic tones to the contemporary acumen we know and love from the twin act, Yesteryear presents a journey through reflections on their past that ultimately showcase where their prolific sound will take them next.

Cosmo’s Midnight have upheld a reputation as one of Australia’s most beloved left-of-centre acts, with a discography that holds over 225 million online streams to date. Their 2018 debut triple j Feature Album, What Comes Next excelled with gold-certified singles “History”, “Talk To Me” and “Get To Know”, before 2019 marked a clear-cut trajectory into new sonic realms across singles “Have It All” feat. Age.Sex.Location, “It’s Love” feat. Matthew Young, and the gold-certified, triple j Hottest 100-placing “C.U.D.I (Can U Dig It)”. In the live arena, their newly-defined focus ignited the stages of Splendour in the Grass, Listen Out and St Jerome’s LanewayFestival, as well as sold-out, headline shows in the US, Asia and major Australian venues on their largest national tour yet. During an equally sensational 2020, the multi-million streamed collaboration with global pop star Ruel in “Down For You” preceded the arrival of album title track “Yesteryear”, keeping the momentum rising as they landed on the cover of Spotify’s The Local List playlist, saw support from NME and Rolling Stone, and expanded their global reach with an official remix from famed European outfit Brame & Hamo.

With Yesteryear just on the horizon from Cosmo’s Midnight, prepare for arguably their most self-affirming music yet with the soothing tastes of “Idaho” now.




1. Unwind
2. Yesteryear
3. It’s Love feat. Matthew Young
4. Have It All feat. Age.Sex.Location
5. Ice feat. Stevan
6. A Million Times
7. Down For You
8. The Get Down
9. Time Wasted
10. Idaho
11. C.U.D.I (Can U Dig It)
12. We Could Last Forever

Buy TicketsListen HereRead More